Motorcycle classification in Dakar Rally upside down again

The Austrian took over the lead in the standings from Briton Sam Sunderland, who had displaced Frenchman Adrien Van Beveren from first place the day before. Sunderland was the leader again the day before.

Chilean José Ignacio Cornejo won the special stage over 287 kilometers on his Honda. He was 1 minute and 26 seconds faster than the Argentine defending champion Kevin Benavides and was 1.47 ahead of the American Ricky Brabec. Walkner conceded just over 2 minutes on his KTM bike, but took advantage of Sunderland’s 8-minute loss of time.

Walkner, winner of Dakar in 2018, has a lead of 2 minutes 12 seconds over the Brit with three stages to go. Van Beveren is third at just under 4 minutes.

Toyotas dominate among the cars

Among the cars, Giniel De Villiers recorded his eighteenth stage win in Dakar. The podium consisted entirely of Toyotas. The 49-year-old South African won the stage with 9 seconds ahead of his compatriot Henk Lategan, Nasser Al-Attiyad was third at more than 1 minute. The Qatari strengthened his leading position in the standings. Al-Attiyah has a margin of almost 40 minutes with Sébastien Loeb, the French number 2 in the standings.

Bernhard ten Brinke finished twelfth in the stage, almost 5 minutes behind De Villiers, and is in twentieth place in the standings.

The Russian Eduard Nikolaev (Kamaz) recorded his third victory of this year in the trucks. The four-time overall winner took more than 2.5 minutes off his leading compatriot and teammate Dmitri Sotnikov, who finished second. In the standings, Sotnikov still has just under 9 minutes ahead of Nikolayev.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *